a pickle party : part two – mumma’s lemons and curd

So my last post on the Pickle Party was in JUNE. It is now AUGUST. I am not a very dedicated blogger. But. I do get there in the end!

And so the story continues…

Lemons are one of those things I ALWAYS have in my fruit bowl, but never really get around to using for any real purpose except garnishing my compost bin. When my mum gave me a bag from her tree I knew that I would have to do something a bit more exciting with them. At first I thought I should preserve them; every time I see them in the shops I’m astonished at how much they are to buy considering how easy they are to make!

But then, a light bulb.

A little while ago I was given a jar of homemade lime curd. As I tend to do with special treats, I treasured it for months. It was a sad moment when I scraped out the last remnants of the jar. It was so delicious. Of course, I had to make some!

I’d glanced a few recipes for curd, but none were as easy as the recipe from Stephanie Alexander. Many recipes use the double boiler method which takes the intensity out of the heat and purports to stop things like splitting (when the fats and solids separate) from happening, but for Steph’s you basically bung everything in one pot and Bob’s your uncle: CURD!

Stephanie’s Lemon Curd

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 60g unsalted butter
  • 2 tsp grated lemon zest
  • 100ml lemon juice

Whisk the yolks and sugar together until well combined, but not frothy.

IMG_9632

Pour mix into a heavy based pan then add the remaining ingredients.

IMG_9635

IMG_9636

Stir the mix constantly over a medium to high heat, bringing the mixture to simmering point.

IMG_9644

Turn the heat off as soon as the first bubbles appear. Allow to cool then pour into your sterilised jars.

IMG_9646

IMG_9648

IMG_9650

The recipe makes 2 cups but is very easily doubled or tripled (the more the merrier!)

Leave a Reply

